Let’s Share the Fruit of Fate

I recently got some pictures back of my Mawaru Penguindrum cosplay at Sakura-con. I really love how they turned out so I want to share them!

Photo by Brian Ewell. Edit by me using the iPhone app Landcam.

Photo by Brian Ewell. Edit by me using the iPhone app Landcam.

Looking back through my posts, I realized I never even made an update about this past year’s Sakura-con! It was actually quite stressful because of these costumes. The sequins on the bodice are all hand sewn in place, and it took hours and hours to do. I guess after I got back from the con I was just too burnt out to write about it!

Double H

Photo by Brian Ewell

We also had the third member of Fanatic Dolly Cosplay as Himari, but she wasn’t able to make it to this photo shoot. We definitely plan on breaking out these costumes again so we can get photos of the whole group together!

Part of what made me want to do these costumes in the first place was all the little details. We spent a lot of time on the costumes themselves as well as all of our accessories. I knit both of the scarves we are wearing, and Ariann made our star clips and glittered the heels of our boots. I wanted the ruffles at the bottom of the dress to be very delicate so we painstaking painted all the edges with clear nail polish so it wouldn’t fray. We couldn’t find any pre-made white booty shorts to wear underneath that were the perfect shape so I ended up making them myself using a vintage underwear pattern.

Photo by Brian Ewell

Photo by Brian Ewell

There are definitely still things I would like to work on as well. I hope to fix up some things on it and wear it again for Newcon if I can get my group together!

Photo by Brian Ewell

Photo by Brian Ewell

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. So cute! I feel your pain on the sequin front haha. Did you use individual sequins or the ones prestitched together? You must be so proud of the costumes – I can only imagine how awesome your Halloween one will be.

    Reply
    • We used individual sequins actually. It was extra difficult trying to keep them spaced evenly! And I think I made more work for myself by putting them too close together at the beginning haha.

      Reply
  2. WhatIWear

     /  October 28, 2013

    Hello Laura,

    I’m Valencia, the community manager of WhatIWear. I checked out your blog, and I think your style is awesome! It should be seen by more people! That’s why I’d like to invite you to WhaIWear.com. With 900.000 page views a month, WhatIWear.com is the leading street style website in Asia. Plus, we’re still growing, so it’s perfect for rising fashionistas to have their chance to SHINE at the spotlight.

    Maybe you can post these pics as your first looks on WhatIWear? I bet our members will be rooting for you as well!

    We cannot wait to see your awesome style.
    Click http://www.whatiwear.com to get started.

    See you soon,
    Valencia
    Community manager

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers

